× Scuba Gear
Terms of use Privacy Policy

Scuba Diving Certification

scuba divers

You must first complete a training program and then receive a certification from a certifying organization to become a certified diver. PADI (Scuba Diving International) or SSI is the organization that awards scuba diving certification. Other certifying bodies exist, like SSI, however these are the most commonly used. Continue reading to learn more about certification. We'll talk about the benefits and which certification is best for you.


PADI stands for Professional Association of Diving Instructors. John Cronin, Ralph Erickson and Ralph Erickson founded the organization in 1966. It is a membership-based and diver training organization. Before they can teach others, members must earn the PADI certification. PADI certifications are internationally recognized. They are considered the standard for instruction in diving. These certifications provide the best safety and training possible for all scuba divers.

certification for scuba diving

Scuba Diving International

Scuba Diving International is an organization that offers certifications in scuba diving and training. The organization is the recreational arm of Technical Diving International (TDI). SADI's mission is to teach people how to dive. You can get certifications for any level of diving: advanced divers, beginner, or professional instructors. Besides scuba certifications, SADI also provides a wealth of information about scuba diving.


You're likely to be looking for the best scuba certification. Although the SSI and PADI courses have many similarities, the main difference is in the order that the skills are taught. PADI requires that all students must complete all skills within a set order. SSI is more flexible and allows a diver the flexibility to skip a skill if it's not working. This can help them gain more confidence.

Other certification bodies

There are many agencies that give scuba divers certifications. While the basic hierarchy is similar across all agencies, names and requirements can vary. In general, open water, divermaster, or instructor will all be equivalent in certification. Below is a guideline for scuba diving qualifications. Benchmarks include the ISO 24801-2 and ISO 24801-3 certifications as well as the BSAC certifications.

Specialties offered

You can get certification in scuba diving with many specialties such as deep dives and even ice diving. These specialized courses allow divers to explore new worlds below the ocean's surface. Divers can take hundreds of specialty courses. One of these is night diving. This allows divers to observe nocturnal species like octopi and fish. Divers can weave baskets underwater, with some courses.

scuba diving gear the forest

Cost of certification scuba diving

The cost to become certified scuba diver varies according to the location and class. The PADI Open Water certification course, for example, costs around $500, although it can cost a bit more if you plan to dive in Maui. The certification price includes all scuba gear, including masks and fins. Getting certified is a lifetime achievement, and is a great way to start scuba diving in the ocean.


Scuba Diving Certification